Optical Lab Division Announces Directors' Choice Award Recipient and 2013 Hall of Fame Inductees

Optical Lab Division Announces Directors' Choice Award Recipient and 2013 Hall of Fame Inductees

Alexandria, VA (July 31, 2013) - The Optical Lab Division has revealed the names of eight industry veterans who will be recognized during the Directors' Choice Award and 14th Annual Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame banquet on Wednesday, October 2 from 6:30-9:30 p.m. at The Venetian Resort-Hotel-Casino in Las Vegas.

The Optical Lab Division has named Barney Dougher, president of Hoya Vision Care, North America, the recipient of the 2013 Directors' Choice Award. The Directors' Choice Award was established in 1987 under the Optical Laboratories Association, now the Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council, to honor individuals and companies that have made outstanding contributions to the ophthalmic industry. Now in its twenty-seventh year, the award is still recognized as one of the most prestigious honors in the industry.

It is a great privilege to be able to recognize Barney Dougher for this year's Director's Choice Award, said Virginia Susie Lesher, chair of the Optical Lab Division. Barney has devoted many years to the OLA and, most recently, the Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council. He was very influential in helping to determine the best direction for our association during the merger and remained sensitive to the needs of our membership. Barney had the foresight and expertise to lead us forward and has proven to be an exemplary leader among his peers in our industry. We owe him a great debt of gratitude and sincerely appreciate his continued dedication to our industry.

Dougher will be recognized alongside this year's Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame honorees at the Hall of Fame banquet, held during the Optical Lab Division's meeting at International Vision Expo West. The Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame continues to celebrate the rich heritage of the optical lab industry and the individuals who have contributed to its success, said Mike Daley, Optical Lab Division liaison. It is my pleasure to announce the names of the individuals who have had a direct hand in helping to move our industry forward.

2013 Optical Pioneer Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Richard Cherry, president of RD Cherry Optical, Inc. (Cherry Optical)
  • Jonathan Jacobs, president of Superior Optical, Inc.
  • Andrew Karp, group editor with Jobson Optical Group
  • James McLean, former owner of Dietz-McLean Optical (retired)
  • David Rips, president of Younger Optics
  • Joseph Santinelli, founder and CEO of Santinelli International
  • Robert Shanbaum, president of Ocuco, Inc.

All members of the vision community are invited to attend the banquet, recognizing those who have participated in the establishment of the wholesale optical industry. Tickets are free to members of The Vision Council (members must RSVP). Non-members can purchase tickets for $90 at www.thevisioncouncil.org/labmeeting.  

To learn more about the Optical Lab Division meeting and the Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame, or to purchase tickets for the banquet, visit www.thevisioncouncil.org/labmeeting.

About the Optical Lab Division

The Optical Laboratories Association (OLA) was founded in 1894 as an international business association to serve the needs of the optical industry's laboratories. In 2011, The Vision Council and the OLA announced their joint affiliation, naming OLA the new Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council, and combining the activities of both associations to benefit their respective members. The Optical Lab Division provides information, publications, education, and programs to help members operate and improve their business and their lab operations. Learn more at www.thevisioncouncil.org/OLA