Lab Division Meeting

Lab Division Meeting

lab meeting

The 2017 Lab Division meeting was held in conjunction with Vision Expo West in Las Vegas, NV. The education program featured thought-leaders, specialized experts and panelists tackling trending industry topics of importance to labs, and included hours of dedicated networking time. For minutes and copies of the presentations delivered, please visit the secure content page for the Lab Division.

Lab Division Hall of Fame

The rich history of the optical industry is celebrated through the annual induction of individuals into the Lab Division Hall of Fame. Individuals selected for membership to the Hall of Fame are those who have influenced or contributed to the advancement of the optical laboratory industry.

The Lab Division has named Marty Bassett, President & CEO of Walman Optical Company, as the 2017 recipient of the Directors' Choice Award. Established in 1987 under the Optical Laboratories Association, now the Lab Division of The Vision Council, this award honors individuals and companies that have made outstanding contributions to the ophthalmic industry. Now in its 31st year, the award is still recognized as one of the most prestigious in the industry.

Marty Bassett was recognized alongside the 2017 Lab Division Hall of Fame inductees at the Hall of Fame banquet, held during The Vision Council's Lab Division meeting at Vision Expo West.

2017 Lab Division Hall of Fame Inductees

  • John Art, Interstate Optical
  • Lorinda Fraboni, Walman Optical
  • James Goerges, Precision Tool Technologies, Inc.
  • William H. Heffner, III, FEA Industries, Inc.
  • Lawrence Lahr, Eye-Kraft Optical, Inc.
  • Mark Mattison-Shupnick, Jobson and MMS Consulting, formerly of SOLA
  • Drake McLean, Dietz-McLean Optical
  • Joe Vitale, Essilor of America, Inc.

View a list of past Hall of Fame Honorees here.

View a list of past Directors' Choice winners here

Additional Information

For more information about the Lab Division, visit the Lab Division section of the site.